Archive

Archive for December 1, 2006

Little ole me is a NCC

December 1, 2006 1 comment

I got a letter today that informed me that I am a fully certified National Ceritified Counselor by the National Board of Certified Counselors. The National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC) is the nation’s premiere professional certification board devoted to credentialing counselors who meet standards for the general and specialty practices of professional counseling.
This is a goal that I have been working towards for the past three years. I am extremely excited about this achievement.
National Certified Counselors (NCCs) all have master’s degrees. Required coursework includes psychotherapeutic theories and techniques, diagnosis and treatment planning, group therapy, and assessment. Supervised practica and internships in therapeutic work with clients is also required. The NCC credential assures counselor competence in all the areas that are essential for mental health service providers.

There are more than 38,000 NCCs working in every state in the US. NCCs serve an estimated half million clients each year. The NCC Registry at (www.nbcc.org) offers easy access to NCCs and can be searched by counselor location, name or certificate number. NBCC’s Counselor Find feature offers the same access to NCCs who accept referrals and provides their business city, state and phone.
It is my prayer that I can use this certification along with my professional counseling license to better minister to my congregation and others in my community.

Categories: counseling, mental health