Home > Family > A Southerner’s Nightmare

A Southerner’s Nightmare


Before reading this blog you must understand the background of the writer before proceeding. I grew up in a town of 6,000 people in western TN. If someone mentioned snow at all then the schools would close down immeadiately. I believe the biggest snow we had growing up was 2 inches. This was a major deal for the town and people feared it would be the end of the world.

I am now living in Lebanon, PA and we got 4-6 inches of snow yesterday. Last night we recieved more snow and a sheet of ice to make it even more fun. Yesterday I got out there and shoveled my driveway and sideway. It only took about an hour so I was very proud of myself. This morning I woke up and could not see ANY of the progress I had made just 10 hours earlier. All the snow was back with a nice sheet of ice to make it really slushy. I decided it was time to get serious with this snow.

I dressed up in my hiking boots, University of TN hooded sweatshirt, UT leather jacket, and my prissy leather gloves. I was determined to dig my way out again. Well 2 hours and many snickers later I realized that I was not getting anywhere. My neighbors said with delight in their voices “You have never shoveled snow before have you?” I must not of being doing it right because my neighber brought over his snow blower and finished up for me. He was very nice and it was cool to see people in the neighborhood helping each other out. Needless to say that I am cold, frustrated, and definitely staying home today.

Here are some things I learned from this experience:
1) A $10 shovel from Big Lots is a good deal only financially.
2) When you spread salt with black leather gloves they tend to shrink quickly.
3) Maybe if I let my grass get long people will mow it for me.
4) It is great to have good neighbors who truly look out for each other.

I am really considering become a missionary to Florida!

God bless.

Categories: Family
  1. James
    February 15, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    Sunny an 28 in Memphis!

  2. James
    February 15, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    Sunny and 28 in Southaven.

  3. Brian Nicklaus
    February 19, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    you need to stock up on Advil, too

    the church owns a snowblower, so that is nice

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

