Home > church > What do you think about ‘Jesus Camp’?

What do you think about ‘Jesus Camp’?

I thought I would try something different today. Instead of me commenting on this blog I want you to. I found this video on stupidvideos.com, but it is far from stupid. I want you to watch it and tell me your first impressions of this movie.

Categories: church
  1. J.D.
    November 2, 2006 at 11:43 am

    First impressions:

    Well, when I first started watching it, I was unaware that I had my mp3 player still going, and oddly enough the song “Nature Trail to Hell” by Weird Al Yankovic was playing (and it synced up PERFECTLY to the video) so I didn’t know that it wasn’t part of the video.

    Then when I finally figured it out, I turned it off and actually watched it.

    It’s quite telling to me that my first reaction was to be a little put off. “What fanatics,” I thought. Then I realized, THIS is the reaction that our culture, whether I wanted it to or not, has inculcated into me. Years and years of societal change and brainwashing on TV have taught me to have the initial reaction of “these people are kooks” and to react badly to what they are doing.

    Then the part of me that is ME said, you know, if this were a Muslim camp, people would be falling all over themselves to embrace it (even with the swordplay, I’m sure that there would still be cries of a “peaceful religion.”) And there is definitely a need to take care of children and instill in them early their need for Jesus.

    It makes me wonder, seeing their worship, how much I get into my own worship. I see them and I think “fanatical” and “charismatic.” But then I also see “passion” and “zeal.”

    Thanks for the food for thought, Mike.

  2. JimmyBob
    November 4, 2006 at 5:19 am

    My first impression is that a whole lot of emotional manipulation of children is going on and that disturbs me. At the same time, whoever made this promo is doing an equal amount of emotion twisting, if not more, and that disturbs me too.

    The Jesus Camp leaders are stirring up a passion for Christ in their kids with zeal. The creators of the documentary are stirring up anger against those leaders because they feel it’s fanatical and dangerous if a child cries and believes what those adults tell them. They give the impression that the kids have been manipulated and taken advantage of.

    The fact that you found this on StupidVideos is interesting. Not sure what to make of that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

