Silence

Today my family visited the Sweetest Place on Earth: Chocolate World. We took the tour at Hershey Park and saw how chocolate was made. I must say that I was very impressed with the chocolate making process. Who knew that the cocoa beans came from all over the world just so that I could enjoy a Hershey Kiss. I feel so special. I also found out that they make over 20 million Hershey Kisses a day. Now that is a lot of love! We saw enough chocolate today to give all of Memphis, TN diabetes. I had to do my part and support the fine people of Hershey by purchasing several of their tiny pieces of heaven. I am sure that I will regret eating all of that candy later, but I think it was worth it.

This evening around 10:30 p.m. I was feeling overwhelmed. We are closing on our house tommorrow, Dana has a job interview in the morning, Mikayla has been having a hard time adjusting to this new move, all of my possessions are somewhere between Louisiana and Pennsylvania on a moving truck, I just moved away from all of my friends, and some other personal things are going on in my family. I knew that I needed to pray and so I laid on the bed and tried. I was not sure what to pray about because I feel like I have sounded like a broken record to God lately. I feel like I am always asking for something, but I have not been taking any time to listen. I forced myself to do something that I have NEVER done before. I kneeled beside the bed, bowed my head, and just listened. I tried to slow down my thoughts and hear God speak to me. It took about 10 minutes before the phrase “God is in control” popped in my mind. For the next couple of minutes I thought about several things I had been worrying about and just repeated to myself “God is in control”. A few minutes later the phrase “These problems are temporary” popped into my mind. I sat there and smiled for a second and started to realize the truth in that saying. Nothing that I am dealing with is going to last forever. I don’t need to worry about ANYTHING because eventually that situation will change. Finally I “heard” the phrase “choose joy”. James 1 tells us to “count it all joy…” I have preached and taught that passage so many times, but have not been living it. I am in contol of my joy. It is my job to choose joyfulness and God job to be in control of this world.
Practicing silence was difficult, but I gained so much from it. I challenge you to pause your life for a few minutes and see what God is trying to tell you.

Categories: spiritual formation
  1. J.D.
    September 7, 2006 at 12:26 pm

    Absolutely. Great advice, Mike. It’s like when we were in school. Sometimes if we stop jabbering and listen to The Teacher, we actually hear something and learn something.

  2. Michelle
    September 14, 2006 at 5:27 am

    Have you Busterized your new house?

  3. Lady V
    September 14, 2006 at 10:37 pm

    Send chocolate !!!!!!!!!! No, not really, glad you were in the chocolate capital of America. Tell your sweet, sweet wife hello, and give your little candybar girl a big hug. I hope things continue to improve for your family. I know Mikayla is lost. The good news is she will bounce back quickly. I heard the preacher in Spring Hill on Sunday. They shoulda talked to you first.

  4. Busta
    September 22, 2006 at 5:10 am

    I’ve never in bent over so much in my life! Hope everything’s great in PA. out peace, g.

  5. Brian Nicklaus
    September 27, 2006 at 3:51 pm

    Dude, I didn’t know you were in PA. My in-laws live 5 miles from Hershey Park and worship at the Camp Hill church in Harrisburg.

    I am only 2.5 hours away from you. Of course, you know where I am. Does your congregation work at Camp Manatawny?

    I may drop by next time we come to PA.

    Glad I found your blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

