Home > Family > Are we there yet?

Are we there yet?

My family left Memphis on Thursday afternoon headed for Lebanon, PA. We had the priviledge of watching the movers pack all of our things as we collected our thoughts and anticipated the drive ahead of us.
We made an overnight pitstop in Henderson, TN to say goodbye to my parents. I have lived far away from my parents before, but leaving them this time was different. I was teary and noticed that my mother squeezed me a little tighter than she usually does. It was hard knowing that I would be so far from them, but I know it is for a good reason. I am sure that it is hard for them to see their children grow up and move off like that. I know that when Mikayla gets older it will be hard for me to see her leave. I can only pray that I will prepare her like my parents prepared me.

Dana and I are driving separately on this 1000 mile trek. It has been a tiresome little trip. We both have driven with Mikayla in the backseat. She has been an angel for this trip. I am surprised that she has lasted so long in that carseat without much entertainment. She is a special child and she amazes me more and more everyday.

We plan on reaching Lebanon late Saturday afternoon. We will be driving through the rain leftover from the almost hurricane. Please pray for us.

Categories: Family
  1. lady V
    September 3, 2006 at 4:58 am

    Be safe. You are in our thoughts and prayers. Tell Mikayla heller for me.

  2. Michelle
    September 4, 2006 at 4:26 am

    I have a question: was the Laurie Berkner cd played on the ride up to PA? 🙂 Hope that you are all doing well! Give Mikayla a hug for me!

  3. Brian Nicklaus
    September 27, 2006 at 9:25 pm

    WE drove from Searcy, AR, to NJ over a five day period, stopping at my folks in KY and then my wife’s in PA. that is a rough trip, I can’t imagine doing it with a little kid. marisa was pregnant at the time.

    i hear ya, brother.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

