Home > Family > Whew!

Whew!


We spent almost 18 hours in the car beginning Wednesday night to come to Lebanon, PA for the weekend. We finally arrived on Friday afternoon and are leaving on Sunday morning. It was a 1000 mile trek. I am definitely tired of driving my car and spend $3 a gallon for gas.

We had our home inspection done today on the house we purchased. In case you didn’t know, this was our first time actually seeing the house besides a few pictures that were sent to us. We have been more than nervous for the past several weeks because this is our first house purchase.

We had no idea what to expect when we walked into the house. I wanted Dana to go in first because if I heard any screams of despair I wanted to be the first one back in the car. She entered the house slowly, but I did not hear any cries–that was a good sign. The house was very nice! I think I looked in every room atleast five times just to get a feel for it. I was not a fan of some of the wallpaper (or any of the wallpaper), but that is why paint was invented. It was very cool to see the look on Dana’s face and to know that she was satisfied.
We walked around and took lots of pictures. We also made notes of things we would like to do in the future. It was a great feeling knowing that we finally have our own home. The neighborhood had a lot of kids and seemed to be nice. I will miss the drunk people who wander around in my backyard every night in Memphis, but we are willing to make this sacrifice.

This feeling of joy because of new home ownership faded quickly. Dana and I returned to a friend’s house and immediately began signing the mortgage paperwork. On some level it should be wrong to be able to spend over $100,000 with just a few quick strokes of the pen. I know that I am not the first person in the world to get a mortgage, but I think my heart slowed down with every page signed.

I thank everyone who has been praying for us during this transition. May God bless you for your prayers.

Categories: Family
  1. Lady V
    August 14, 2006 at 10:44 pm

    So how many tanks of gas does it take to get to PA?
    Hope the house will soon turn into a home for your family.Sounds like one fun trip. And yes with primer you can paint over wallpaper.
    My daughter is really quite talented with a paintbrush, so if you need some help, you know who to call. She even has a fine supply of brushes.
    Keep on bloggin so we can follow you !

  2. J.D.
    August 16, 2006 at 3:57 am

    Dude, the house looks great 🙂 I hope you enjoy!

  3. Michelle
    August 16, 2006 at 5:27 am

    Did I ever tell you that I have a video of you singing Macy Grey on the karyoke machine?

  4. Anonymous
    February 22, 2007 at 7:11 pm

    Very nice site! » »

  5. Anonymous
    March 16, 2007 at 3:07 am

    Looking for information and found it at this great site… »

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

