Home > Family, intern > Winding Down

Winding Down

Friday was my last official youth event here at Holmes Road. We had a lock in for approximately 35 people. It was tiring but very fun. I thank Robert Besinger for suggesting that we play dodgeball. It was awesome! I would have been out of my mind to turn down the opportunity to throw a ball at a teenager and not get in trouble for it. We played from midnight until 1:30 a.m. Normally I would be very tired at this time of the night, but after drinking three Vaults (energy drinks) and having a stressful week at work I found the energy to blast people with that little rubbery ball. It was very therapeutic to see that ball whiz by the head (and hitting some) of people who were not paying attention. I think I am going to quit ministry and open a dodgeball court and charge overly stressed business execs to come and play. (I am in the process of getting a patent on this idea.) I think about 90% of the people at the lock in played that night. We all went away sore and happy.

Today was Michelle’s last day at Holmes Road. She has done an excellent job working with our youth group. She was hired specifically to work with our young ladies, but our young men learned so much from her also. She was fun to have around because of her personality, but mostly because of her dedication to seeing the teens grow spiritually. I am glad that I had the opportunity to teach her what I know about youth ministry. Hopefully she will be even better prepared to work with youth because of her experiences here. She has been a blessing to all of us and I am thankful that God allowed our paths to cross.

I have about 2 1/2 more weeks here before the move to PA. I have been so busy that it has not really sunk in yet. It is a scary proposition that I am going to be a pulpit minister somewhere. I have been trying to mentally and spiritually prepare for all of this. I am determined to have my preaching planned out for the first 2-3 months so that I will not be playing catch up after I get there. I must also prepare for my last sermon here, train someone to take over our church website, and finalize the plans for our youth rally before I leave. Did I mention that I have 2 1/2 weeks to do this? Anyhow I am glad that things will be a little bit slower here for the next couple of weeks. I need the break and the breather. I am confident that all that needs to be completed will be completed and God’s grace can cover the rest. I am praying that I will keep my sanity.

Categories: Family, intern
  1. -Lane
    August 7, 2006 at 8:37 pm

    congrats on the new job. Leaving Memphis was the best and worst thing i’ve ever done. I loved the kids and the group I worked with. They were tremendous. However, I don’t miss Memphis at all. It just wasn’t the city for my wife and I. email me at lanewidick@hotmail.com and we can chat more about transitions. Good luck with being a pulpit guy!

  2. Anonymous
    August 11, 2006 at 3:01 am

    Whatever happened to that cool intern of yours? 🙂 Hope that everything in Memphis is going well! I miss y’all!
    -MG

  3. Anonymous
    August 14, 2006 at 10:45 pm

    Whatever happened to your matchmaking skills ?

  4. Anonymous
    February 6, 2007 at 9:10 pm
  5. Anonymous
    March 3, 2007 at 7:20 am

    Cool blog, interesting information… Keep it UP » » »

  6. Anonymous
    March 17, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    That’s a great story. Waiting for more. »

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

