Home > faith, Family > 30 is great!

30 is great!

I have been 30 years old for a week now and it is not as exciting as I was told it would be. I thought that instantly wisdom would somehow seep into my brain when I made it to this age. I was most confident that by 30 I would be famous, well reknown in my field, and writing books about why my life has been so successful so that others could be like me. Those things have not happened yet. I have however recieved a notice from my health insurance company to congratulate me on becoming 30 and to let me know that my insurance rate would increase significantly because I was “maturing”. That made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

I must admit that God has been more than good to me in this life. I can remember being 10 or 12 years old and planning out my life. By age 30 I planned on being married, having 2-3 children, having a Ph. D in something, being able to provide for my family financially so that my wife could be a stay at home mom, and being active in the church. Well minus 1-2 children and the Ph. D, God has more than blessed me with what I thought I would have at this time. The funny part about all of this is that God gave me what I needed when I needed it. I am still learning that lesson more and more everyday. I am very impatient and like having things my way on my terms. God has been “blessing” me with experiences to help me get over my control issues. I will not say that it has always been fun or desirable but I have truly been blessed. I feel for the first time in my life I am finally starting to let go of some of my “baggage” and letting God use me. This is a freeing, but scary process yet God is faithful.

So what do the next 30 years hold for my family and me? I will not even begin to speculate, but I do know that God has already seen ahead, blessed it, and is patiently waiting for me to follow where He leads. I pray for the wisdom and courage to listen to God’s call and go WHEREVER He may lead. I must say that this journey has been an interesting one so far. I wonder what is going to happen next…….

Categories: faith, Family
  1. Dee O'Neil Andrews
    August 1, 2006 at 4:58 pm

    Mike –

    I just found your blog through your comment left at Patrick’s Tent Pegs and wanted to comment on a couple of things you’ve written here.

    First, I read your last post about you all moving to PA to begin a ministry there and I wanted to give you the blog address of a good blogging friend of mine who is a minister in Delaware, not far from where you’ll be, who is also from the south. His name is Bill Williams and his blog is Spiritual Oasis, that I find is very uplifting and compelling.

    He’s a gifted writer and well versed in God’s word and you could find some challenging lessons from many of his topics to use in your own work to come, I’m sure.

    I always enjoy not only his posts, but also all of the discussions that take place between him and his commenters.

    Second, as a Christian who is twice your age and who has experienced many, many hard times in this life, as well as good, all I can say is it just gets better and better all the time for me in my walk with God, no matter what the external circumstances around me may be.

    God is faithful and good in all and through all as we journey through this world. There is not a night dark enough or a cave black enough to keep God’s presence from us and in us if we will just be aware that is so and seek His counsel in all things.

    I will pray for you and your beautiful family in your upcoming move and new ministry.

    May God richly bless you and your family in all that you do.

  2. J.D.
    August 4, 2006 at 6:06 am

    Dude, don’t even talk about 30 to me, since I flip that one over this November 🙂 I think I’ll go ahead and get my mid-life crisis over with early.

    Nah, for real though, happy 30th, and I know God’s got great things in store for you and Dana and the kid 🙂

  3. Michelle
    August 6, 2006 at 6:18 am

    i blogged. booyakuh.

  4. Vicki
    August 6, 2006 at 11:07 pm

    What touching thoughts from dee.
    30 is a milestone. Not a millstone. So enjoy your health and vitality, even if you get tired and need a Vault.
    PA will be quite an adventure, and please be sure to keep us updated.
    Thanks for all your loving kindness to my daughter. You and Dana are eternal friends. If I don’t get to see you again here, see you there !

  5. Anonymous
    March 1, 2007 at 12:29 pm
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

