Home > faith, Family > Transitions

Transitions

Tomorrow morning I will be announcing to the Holmes Road congregation that I will be leaving to begin my ministry as a pulpit minister. This is a ministry move that I have prayed about for years, but it is finally coming to fruition. I will begin working with the Lebanon Valley congregation in Lebanon, PA on August 27th. The announcement will be bittersweet because I am sad to leave behind such a great group of people, but excited about the potential in this new congregation.

The members of Holmes Road have been nothing but loving and supportive to my family for the past two years. We struggled a long time about this decision, but feel it is where God is calling us. There are so many good things that we will be leaving behind, but I am confident that God has many more blessings that lie ahead of us. I will be 1000 miles (that is three zeros) away from my parents. It has been nice having them close to us, but I feel a strong call to minister where the church is not as well known. They will definitely miss being an active part in Mikayla’s life.

The Northeast is definitely a mission field. The county of Lebanon has a population of over 120,000 people with only one Church of Christ there. It will be nice ministering to a congregation of people who can’t ‘church hop’ due to the 30-40 minute drive to find a new church. This area will be very challenging, but I have been praying for a challenging ministry.
It is my prayer that I will be open to God to use me in anyway that He sees fit. I am excited about my future in God’s kingdom and hope that each of you will be praying for my family as we step out on faith.

Categories: faith, Family
  1. Anonymous
    July 18, 2006 at 3:20 am

    kaboosh

  2. Mr. Magoo
    July 18, 2006 at 4:02 pm

    Good luck and God bless. My parents have been working in the northeast (Hagerstown, MD) for fifteen years now. It’s a hard work – very much a mission field – but a rewarding one. One word of warning though: Northeasterners are weird!

  3. Lady V
    July 19, 2006 at 5:14 am

    You know, there is a Lebanon, TN?
    I know you will make a difference in PA. Just don’t let Mikayla pick up the accent. (wife of Yankee speaking) Keep up the blog so we can figure out what you are up to. I look forward to Friday.

  4. J.D.
    July 19, 2006 at 2:16 pm

    Dude, hate to hear you’re leaving the area. I was thinking about hopping up to see you at Holmes Road, but just haven’t gotten the opportunity. (I guess that’s one of the pitfalls of being so involved in my home congregation, not that that’s a bad thing.)

    God bless you and your work in Pennsylvania. I know you’ll do a lot of good there, and our prayers will follow you there. Just make sure you keep BLOGGING!

  5. Matt Brent
    July 23, 2006 at 9:44 pm

    i see you know my boy mr. magoo. god bles in your new ministry. i’m up here in marion, oh, it’s been great. you’ll love the weather.

  6. Anonymous
  7. Anonymous
    February 16, 2007 at 1:59 am

    Where did you find it? Interesting read » » »

  8. Anonymous
    March 5, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    You have an outstanding good and well structured site. I enjoyed browsing through it » »

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

